top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCamryn

Faith, Trust, and Pixie Dust!

Updated: Apr 27, 2020

Friends! The time has come! I'm officially in my

Disney College Program!


gif

This has been my dream, since my sophomore year of high school and I can't believe it's finally happening! I've known my acceptance since the end of this past September and I've been anticipating my arrival ever since. And now I'm actually here! I'm really part of the Disney College Program! The magic here is really overwhelming in the best possible way. I'm already settled in my dorm and dreaming of all the Mickey ice cream bars I'm going to be eating. Woo hoo! For those of you lovely people who don't know, I'm a Spa Receptionist in the Grand Floridian. I'm so beyond excited!!!! Get ready for lots of exclamation points in this post!


gif

I'm sure all of you are wondering... "Camryn! This blog is called tea time! How will you drink tea in Florida? It's hot down there!" LET. ME. TELL. YOU. It's cold right now!!! It's not supposed to be! But it is! When I say cold, I mean 30s-60s. Um. It feels like I didn't leave NJ. So I started my first morning in my new apartment by sipping on a cup of tea. Okay, yes, when it's hot out, I can always have iced tea, but let's not think about that right now.


Not only is it freezing, but we've had a couple of fire alarm go off already in the first 24 hours. Were there really fires? No! Did we need to evacuate? Yes! Something about smoke traveling over to our area. Oh. And when we turned on our heater because ya know all of a sudden Florida turned into Antarctica, it let off a burning smell and the fire alarm went off in our room and we had to air out the room. My roommates and I decided to never touch it again and walk around in parkas instead.


Speaking of roommates, so far mine are super cool. They're friendly and as I'm writing this, we're all sitting together at the dining room table! Romance. One more roommate is supposed to be moving in next week. We also have a roommate that moved in with us and we haven't seen her since...where did she go? All of us are wondering the same thing.


I've already scoped out quite a few restaurants in Orlando that are fabulous and won't cause my bank account too much trauma. In my local Walmart, there's this incredible churro place. For real! In a Walmart! If you know me at all, you know I loathe Walmart with a burning passion and will avoid it at all costs. I can't believe I'm saying this, but this one is decent. *GASP* Anyway, back to food. I'm sure I'll eat a lot more in the parks when I have access to them, but until I go through training, I have free time to explore all Orlando has to offer and dream about all the Minnie Ears I'm going to collect. I'm obsessed with the Tropical Smoothie Cafe around the corner from my apartment.

gif


Clearly, I'm spoiled when I'm living on campus back at home because there are a few things I'm going to have to get used to down here like paying to do laundry. I also have to walk outside to get to the laundry room. Ew. And I need to walk outside to the dumpster instead of walking down the hall to a trash chute. Why. WHY. Poor little me, working for her dream internship at Disney and having to take the trash outside. How will I manage? On the bright side, I'm really close to the gym and pool! YES, THE COMPLEX HAS A POOL!!!


I fully plan on posting pictures and letting all of you hear about my program as I go through it, but I thought I would give you a little update for the meantime. :) I hope all of you are having a smooth transition into the new semester! xo


Lots of Love,

Camryn

gif

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page