top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCamryn

Camryn's College Advice

Hello, lovelies!


These last few months have been complex, no doubt about it. From lockdowns to masks to battling injustices, there's a lot of heavy topics on the table. I keep wanting to write more blog posts and grow into more of an activist, but it's a little overwhelming. When I wrote my first post on inequality (the only one I've published so far), I was really scared. I feel like I said everything wrong. I was trying to balance all the perspectives I was hearing and remind everyone to support BLM and know that it's a stepping stone to fixing more and more injustices in our world. As a person of privilege, I know I have so much to learn. There are so many other issues that I care about and I want to step up my game when it comes to speaking out about them. Just to list a few...I want to discuss more on women's health, the water crisis in the world, and human trafficking. Slowly but surely, I'll have more educational posts for you mixed in with my lifestyle and wellness posts.


Today, we're keeping our topic on the lighter side. I've had a special request to share some college advice! I know some of us are already well into college, but I do have a few darling readers who are heading off to college soon. Who knows, maybe my advice could still serve you, no matter what year you're in. Or maybe you just love reading my posts so much that you'll read my advice anyway. :)


I'm by no means a college expert! I'm just your girlfriend Camryn sharing some personal experiences that will hopefully guide you. The biggest takeaway I've had in my college experience is finding my balance.


I'd also like to place a disclaimer that college is going to look a little different this year since so many universities are transitioning to an online or hybrid format. Some of the advice I'm sharing has more to do with being in an in-person environment without a pandemic. Hopefully, we'll get back to normal! But if you find yourself on campus at all during the semester or even have the ability to go to small social gatherings, PLEASE WEAR YOUR MASK!


College is a huge transitional phase in our lives. Going from high school to college is a transition. Moving up year to year is a transition. Getting a new part-time job while still in school is a transition. Graduating into the next chapter of your life is, you guessed it, a transition. College is full of changes, and with changes comes lots of opinions from other people, whether they're wanted or not. Other people always think they know what's best for you, even when they don't know what's best for themselves. It can be tricky to know who to listen to, but at the end of the day, only you know what's best for you. Well, my loves, today I hope to guide you through all of this confusion so you can make the most of the next four(ish) years of your life.


Before I started college and even throughout the time I've been in school, I would seek out advice from others. I also got a lot of unsolicited advice because when someone hears you're off to school, they suddenly have an abundance of "wisdom" to share with you. I felt that I would receive contradictory information all the time. Someone would tell me to study as much as possible because of the rigor of the course work and someone else would tell me to have a huge social life because college is a breeze. Someone would tell me I was going to gain the freshman 15 but someone else would tell me that I needed to work out as often as possible. The more contradictions I got, the more overwhelmed I became. I realized that I needed to sort through what nuggets of wisdom I felt were important and tailor it to my own personal needs... With this post, I hope you find the information you need to make college work for you!


Finding Your Balance In College

Each point is next to a squiggle~. The ~ indicates the different things you can balance!


Balance 1: Going to Events

I'm definitely speaking from personal experience with this point because I don't know if other schools offer these sorts of things...

~Go to as many events as possible, especially the welcome events!

As an incoming freshman, you're more than likely to be bombarded with welcome events. I highly recommend these! Activity fairs are a great way to get to know what organizations are on campus and get free stuff. From personal experience, my campus has welcome events that give away lots of free goodies, have a Mister Softee ice cream truck, have a DJ, and lots of activities. On one of the first welcome events of freshman year, I bumped into a girl who I'd met at orientation and to this day we're still close! (Hi, Debbie). All of these events are supposed to be fun and encourage you to make friends.


~Be sure the events are worth going to

If you're not feeling it, you can always leave, but at least you can say you gave it a shot! Try asking older students what events they recommend going to. Certain organizations, usually those that run through the school, put on really fun events that have giveaways and awesome activities like bouncy houses. Other organizations, like Greek life, have events that are open to "everyone" but only the people of that org show up and the activities are usually small. You'd get some funny looks if you showed up and aren't part of that org.


~Don't go to the event if it means you'll be overscheduling yourself

These fun activities are meant to enhance your experience, not make you stressed! Remember, school is your first priority. If you're overloaded with homework or just really overwhelmed, you're not obligated to show up. Pick which events really spark your interest and mark them in your calendar. Staying organized will help you find a balance between play and work.


Balance 2: Friendships

~The friends you make in your first month might not be your forever friends

Obviously, one of my first friends I made at college is still in my life, (Hi, again, Debbie), but I met a bunch of people those first few days that I never speak to now. Don't get me wrong, I had loads of fun with this group while it lasted. Chances are, your first group of friends will naturally separate. That's totally normal! Don't feel that you need to cling on to them.

I told my sister this piece of advice before she left for her freshman year of school and she thought I was being really harsh! She was obsessed with her first group of friends. Three months later, she was like, "Yeah, these three people I used to like are now crazy, these other people fell off the face of the earth, but at least I'm still close with these two!" Once again, this is totally normal, especially as you start finding your groove in school.


~Make as many friends as possible

Talk to everyone! The more connections you have, the better off you are. It's always nice having a class friend to exchange notes with, a friend to go to the dining hall with, a friend to party with, etc. You're going to grow naturally closer to some people than you do to others. Sometimes you'll be really close with your classmate one semester and barely speak after because you don't have similar schedules anymore. Go with the flow of your friendships and be open to new ones.


Balance 3: Clubs, Organizations, and Involvement

~Join clubs you're interested in

Freshman year I wanted to join every club under the sun that caught my interest. I went to activity fairs and showed up at loads of meetings. Some clubs were interesting, but others seemed like a waste of my time. It's important to know which organizations are going to serve you. Join clubs where you enjoy the other members, are passionate about the work and can fit the time commitment into your schedule. Getting involved on campus is a wonderful thing.


~Don't feel tied down to any organization

Just because you attended the interest meetings and get the weekly emails does not mean you have to stick with the club. If you show up to an intro meeting and get bad vibes, trust your gut and don't commit.

I wasted so much time sticking with organizations that didn't serve me! Here's an example: I thought I wanted to be part of the student government during my freshman year, but it took about 5 hours out of my week and what's worse was all of those hours were boring! I hated going to the meetings! I stuck it out for a whole semester because I didn't want to let anyone in the organization down or seem like a quitter. NOT WORTH IT.

If you're in a club for less than a semester, don't have a key role, and hate going to the meetings, quit sooner than later! I was in the student government for such a short period of time that I don't even put it on a resume, yet I forced myself to stay a whole semester. Unless you plan on putting this organization on your resume, you are allowed to leave whenever you want. You're not disappointing anyone. If anything, it's better to leave so you don't spread negative vibes. Don't inconvenience yourself.


~Get involved somewhere

Perhaps campus life is lame. Or maybe you're looking for even more extracurriculars that your campus might not offer. You're totally encouraged to find an off-campus job or do community service outside of your college. Have something to put on your resume, even if it has nothing to do with school.


~Don't overload your schedule

If you have a rigorous courseload and can only manage to have one extracurricular, so be it. Every semester will look different for you so every few months you can adjust your involvement, but always remember that school is a priority!


Balance 4: Relationships

~Don't date someone because you're lonely

When I first got to college, I was so sick of not having a boyfriend that I settled big time (read all about it from that link!). Had I not done this, I probably would have had a better freshman year. It's really easy to get trapped in a relationship with tons of red flags if you're guided by your loneliness. Stay strong and trust that the universe will bring you the perfect relationship in its perfect timing.


~Embrace the shifts in your relationships

You might grow more distant from your childhood friends or you might get closer. You might develop a toxic family dynamic or you might find you're closer to your family. It's possible you'll stay together with your current S.O. or maybe you'll grow apart. As you change and grow, your relationships will too.


~When it comes to roommates...hope for the best

I've had some really great roommates and I've had some less than ideal roommates. One of my roommates, who was a random, was such a nightmare that I moved out a week early and commuted during finals week because she made my life a living hell. I've had some incredible experiences with random roommates as well and I've stayed friends with them! It's a total gamble with what you're going to get, whether you go random or even if you know the person. The best advice I can give you is to try to be as kind and open with your communication as possible. Many schools do a roommate contract and I highly recommend taking advantage of that. There's a chance that the other person doesn't comply so have a support network ready to help you through your semester. If your situation is really that bad and you can change roommates or drop out of housing, do it.


Balance 5: No College Experience is Linear

~If you want to go away for a semester, don't wait!

I haven't even finished college yet and my biggest regret is not studying abroad. My dreams for college were to study abroad and to do the Disney College Program. I got to go to Disney! But my program got cut short by the virus, which is definitely sad, but I had such a perfect experience I plan on going back after I graduate. I held back from studying abroad because I've never been overseas before so I was scared to do it all on my own. I also let my mom's fear of not wanting me to leave her grasp get into my head. I wish I would have had the guts to pull of my long-time dream of studying abroad. If you have a dream of leaving campus, be fearless and do it! You never know if it'll influence your career ambitions or just fill your soul.


~You're allowed to change your major

By no means are you tied down to one major. It doesn't matter what your friends think or your parents think. If you're not happy, you can change your career choice. Even fully adulting adults go back to school so they can switch careers. Having a change of heart is normal and you're allowed to explore who and what you want to be during college.

I went into college swearing I was going to stay the same Public Relations major all four years then go into a job in that field. After joining several clubs and interacting with professors who used to be PR professionals, I realized I hated the major and would be miserable if I pursued it has a career. Then, I had a quarter-life crisis and felt like I was all alone in the world, but that's another story.


~You don't have to finish in four years

Everyone's story is different. If you can only be a part-time student because you need a full-time job to pay for school, then you're probably not going to finish in four years. If you want to take a semester off or even a year off, that'll extend your education. Changing your major really late in the game affects your timeline. There are so many factors that could completely change the amount of time you spend in your undergrad years. Do what you need to do to make the most of your college experience.


~You're allowed to transfer!

If your college doesn't have the best program for you, you hate the professors, or campus life is awful, you're allowed to transfer. College doesn't necessarily have to be the "best four years of your life", but you should be enjoying it. Another college might have a program that's a better fit for you. Of course, it'll be sad leaving your friends, assuming the reason you're transferring isn't that you couldn't make friends at this place, but if the friendship is strong, you'll stay in touch even if it's not as often as before.


~College isn't for everyone

Maybe getting a four-year degree is your parent's dream for you, but you know in your heart that it's not the right fit. Your career is about YOU, not anyone else. There are so many other options. You can go to a trade school. You can take time off from school and work for a bit until you find your passion. You can work super hard in a company and work your way up. You can start a business. You can get a certification and pursue it. A degree opens many doors, but there are plenty of other ways you can make ends meet and still be happy with your life.



Balance 5: Your Mental Health

~Go to therapy

There is no shame in going to therapy and no, you don't need to be in a mental health crisis to see a therapist. It doesn't matter how "small" you think your problems are. Therapists are there to help you through any problems during any phases of your life. If you notice you're getting overwhelmed, consider getting a consultation. I started going to therapy several months ago and it's made tremendous changes in my life. I love having a safe space where I'm allowed to talk about anything I need to and discover new perspectives on how I can handle the problems I'm facing.

The great thing about college is that many universities offer free counseling or other mental health services. Do research about your school to see what they provide. I know my school offers one-on-one therapy, group therapy, unofficial meetings where you can talk to a counselor for an hour, meditation, and an online therapy program. If your school doesn't offer these resources, check with your insurance to see what therapists are in your network that are nearby your campus or that teleconference.

If you feel lonely, overwhelmed, not like yourself, mentally drained, struggling with relationships, anxious, depressed, unsupported, or struggling to make transitions, therapy might be right for you. Maybe you'd like to know how to handle stress better. Maybe you'd like to get a deeper understanding as to why you are the way you are. Maybe you're working on becoming independent but notice you're finding some mental barriers but can't figure out what they are. Maybe you're struggling with your confidence. There are endless amounts of reasons you could go to therapy for. Once again, you don't have to be in a crisis to see a therapist!


~Be patient with yourself growing

Some people adjust to college easier than others and that's perfectly okay. You might hit a phase in college where you feel completely stuck and lost. That's normal, despite what other people tell you. For some reason, when you're confused with the direction of your life, people suddenly think they know what's best for ou and thrust all their opinions at you, even if you didn't ask for it. In my experience, everyone getting in my business made me feel overwhelmed, misunderstood, and alone. Growing is a long process. Some seasons we're thriving and others we're much slower. Even nature shows us that we can't blossom every season. It's easy to fall into the trap that we need to be our best, most high performing self every single day, but that's not possible. Allow yourself to have off-seasons and take each step one step at a time.


Balance 6: Managing Your Coursework

~Go to class and do your homework

Use planners. Make a schedule that works best for your sleep habits. Plan out the times you're going to study. Have a calendar with all your deadlines highlighted in bright ink. Organize yourself as much as possible and you'll notice college will run a lot smoother and see there's no real reason to pull an all-nighter. All-nighters are NOT rites of passage!! They're really harmful to your body! Staying on top of your assignments is the easiest way to boost your grades. Also, go to class. Some days you might feel tired and not feel like it, but save your absences for another day where you might be sick or are mentally fatigued. Just showing up will get you your participation points and keep your grade up. Plus, you never know when a professor is going to give out important information about a test or paper. There is no downside to going to class as much as possible.

For this upcoming semester with COVID, we're also experiencing some unusual circumstances where most of our classes are online. This should make class a little easier to show up for! All you have to do is turn Zoom on. You don't even have to leave your room. Just go to class.


~You can take a day off

I know I just wrote about going to class as often as possible, but we all need a break every once and a while. Mental health days are as important as taking a day off when you have a cold. Save your absences for the days you really need them so you can recharge and get back on your grind.

Your absences are for the days you get sick, need a mental break, or have a really amazing opportunity to do something fun. If you have to miss a class, try to skip the one that you find the easiest, have a solid grade in, and with the least amount of classwork. Having a friend who can give you notes is also a tremendous help.

I also really believe in living life whenever you can. At the end of the day, you're not going to remember every lecture you went to. If you can afford an absence to go to something really fun, do it. There was a day where I only had one easy class and skipped it because Will took me on a surprise trip to Salem, MA. I had a friend who gave me the notes from that day and it was my first absence so it didn't affect my grade. Salem is one of my favorite memories I have and I don't regret skipping class at all! Choose your absences wisely and responsibly.

Balance 7: Staying Healthy

~Stay active

Living an active lifestyle is different for everyone and your interests in the ways you train can change over time. You don't have to go to the gym and lift weights if that's not your jam. You can absolutely just stick to going on short walks every day. Maybe you even commit to walking all over campus instead of taking the shuttle. Maybe you get into yoga or even weight training. There are so many options on how you can stay fit. Lots of schools have wonderful fitness centers and even group fitness classes. Take advantage of the resources your school provides.

Staying active has tremendous health benefits. It keeps your heart healthy, gives you energy, longevity, reduces depression and anxiety, releases endorphins, maintains a healthy weight, increases bone density, releases stress, clears the mind to sharpen focus, and so many other wonderful things!


~Don't overexert your body

College already comes with enough stress and sometimes, working out can make it worse. Physical activity is stress on the body! Its good stress, but stress nonetheless. If you're super overwhelmed, you should still be staying active to help release anxious energy and get some endorphins but with gentler activities could be walking, a light jog, or yoga. Even a five-minute walk can make a huge difference in your day. Find a workout plan that works for you so you can leave the gym feeling energized and strong instead of fatigued and depleted.


~Eat and sleep

Sometimes, all the food in the dining hall is gross. I've settled for fries and ice cream as a meal many times. But when possible, try to eat healthier! Food is fuel for your body. There are loads of simple ideas you can find on Pinterest and the Tasty app that are easy to make in a dorm room. I made microwave oatmeal in my dorm almost every morning. Keeping healthy snacks in your room also keeps your eating on track.

If you're a commuter or are going to be doing classes remotely this semester, meal prep! Make your own meal plan and make the food ahead of time. You'll save so much money on food and you know you'll have something nutritious. Once again, Pinterest and Tasty are great resources to find recipes.

Eating well is so important. but so is sleep! If you aren't sleeping enough, you're really putting lots of harm on your body. It's harder for you to remember things and your metabolism slows down. You crave more comfort foods and you'll find yourself feeling really fatigued. Anxiety and depression may increase. There are so many negative effects and dangers of sleep deprivation. Time management will make sleep so much more accessible, so grab your planner and get color coding! Sleep is NOT a luxury! It's a necessity!!

It almost seems like it's encouraged in our society to be sleep deprived. We're told to pack our schedules and do "the most". I've heard so many conversations where one person will say they only got 5 hours of sleep and the other person will snap back that they only got 3 hours, as if that makes them more successful. It's not a competition! That's so unhealthy! This is something that society has made normal, but it doesn't mean it's healthy or okay. Your health is a priority! Go to sleep.

If your schedule starts getting so busy that you're cutting back on the amount you're eating and sleeping, you're doing way too much. I don't care what anyone else says! I don't even care if your parents want you to be so stressed out and losing sleep because they think being stressed out to your breaking point makes you successful! (That's my personal experience by the way...) If your health is poor, you're not going to be able to live your best life. Take care of your mind and body. Cut back on the activities and work you're doing, not your sleep.


Balance 8: Memory Making

~Find fun opportunities

If you can go on a cool spring break trip, study abroad, get your dream internship, or take a discounted trip through your school to take a broadway show, DO IT! Take advantage of student rates and the freedom you have to explore during college. Stay up at 3 am to get a milkshake with your friends every once and while (if you don't have an important assignment due...). Try a new club. Take pictures. Go to parties. Get a fun part-time job that has nothing to do with your career goals but looks really cool to you. This is your experience. Make the most of it so you can look back at your time fondly.


~College doesn't have to be the best four years of your life

I hate this mindset! I HATE IT! Why would I want only four years early in my life to be the best? That's it? Should I expect the rest of my life to be lame? NO! College should set the foundation to create a beautiful life for ourselves. We should strive to make college as enjoyable as possible, but sometimes college just sucks. Embrace the journey and find as many fun opportunities as you can, but don't give it the expectation that it'll be your best years. You have your whole life ahead of you to enjoy!


Balance 9: Taking Other People's Advice ~Take everything everyone says with a grain of salt

I've said this multiple times already, but I can't stress it enough...People think they know what's best for you, even if they don't know what's best for themselves. You might be having trouble adjusting to school, having a tough semester, struggling with your mental health, or don't know what you want to do with your major after you graduate and suddenly everyone starts giving their advice or scolding you.

I know when I wasn't sure what I wanted to do after graduation, several adults gave me unsolicited advice and made it seem like something was wrong with me because I wasn't sure what I wanted. I'm still working through my resentment towards these people that gave me unsolicited advice about why they thought my uncertainty was an issue. What made me angrier was that these people aren't in love with their life, so how could they influence my life positively?

Sometimes people will have really great advice, but overall, no one knows what's best. Only you know what's best for you. If something someone says resonates with you, that's great! If not, simply say "thank you" and block out everything they're saying. This includes parents too! Now is the time for you to start figuring out yourself and what's best for you. Your parents might think they know what's best, but they don't always (don't tell them that though, unless you want to make matters worse). Trust your gut.


~Create boundaries around advice

Unsolicited advice usually sucks. Sometimes you just need someone to vent to while you figure out what's best for you. Setting up boundaries can really help prevent people from saying things that might upset you. Before you talk about what's going on in your life. maybe say something like, "I'm not looking for advice right now, just someone to listen". It's that simple!

Also, be careful with who you decide to confide in. Notice who you feel uncomfortable sharing personal things with or if you feel worse or invalidated after you talk with someone. If you feel emotionally unsafe around someone and have noticed a pattern that you feel emotionally drained every time you speak to them, don't tell them personal matters. Once again, this includes parents!! If you normally feel awful after engaging with a parent, you're not obligated to tell them every detail about your life, especially where you feel the most vulnerable.


~There will be impossible people

There's a chance you have people in your life that think they're entitled to knowing every detail about what your future plans are and how you go about your days. They are not entitled to anything, even if they pay your bills still. You are an adult and have a right to your privacy. You're allowed to limit the information you share, despite what these impossible people tell you. If you constantly feel emotionally unsafe around these people, they're probably toxic and emotionally manipulative.

There could also be other adults, friends, and people in your life that constantly tell you what you think you should and shouldn't be doing. If you're not sure about your post-grad life, they might tell you that's an issue and make you seem like you need to come up with an answer as soon as possible. These are really unhealthy people to let influence your life, especially when you're growing.

One thing I wish I did when I was uncertain about my future was to make up a vague plan. I wish I told people I wanted to be a wedding planner or something and came up with a vague future and potential internships just to keep everyone from giving me their opinions. Those people would probably still have something negative to say because everyone always thinks they need to criticize my choices, but at least they wouldn't have been able to say more hurtful words to me about my "lack of direction". Even after I decided I wanted to make a career with Disney, I still had several people tell me how bad of an idea they think it is. There are always going to be people you can't please. It's your life. Ignore them and trust yourself. And here's a friendly reminder that if you're uncertain about your career ambitions or are having a change of heart, IT'S NORMAL! There's nothing wrong with you and there's no rush to figure it all out.


Balance 10: Family

~You don't always have to listen to your parents

YOU KNOW WHAT'S BEST FOR YOU!! ONLY YOU!! Your parents might have your best interest in mind, but they're limited in their beliefs based on their experiences. They might try to steer you in a certain direction that isn't right for you because they're coming from a place of fear. They might have passed on beliefs to you their whole life that you might now realize how negativity they've affected you. For example, your parents might be super strict and think you should only focus on rigorous work instead of living a fun life. Maybe they think you need to look skinny at all times to be worthy. Maybe they've always compared you to other people. They may not admit it, but parents can really harm their children's mental health. College is the time to create your distance from that negativity. For all I know, you have a really great relationship with your parents and they don't try to dictate your life! If that's your case, good for you! But this is for the people who are starting to disagree with their parents and notice ongoing tensions building. It is possible to be your own person. You are not your parents! And you don't always have to make your parents happy!

My parents were so set on me becoming a doctor and that just wasn't my path. It led to a lot of explosive arguments with really harmful language thrown at me. Because I listened so heavily to my parents and internalized all the destructive things they said, I started finding myself hating my life and my self-esteem plummeted. That was when my depression journey began. Once I learned I didn't have to listen to everything my parents said, my life started changing back in a positive direction. Seriously. Trusting myself and going to therapy to help with the process of separating myself from my parents has made a huge difference. It's still a work in progress, but leaning into myself has already created some positive changes. If I constantly listened to my parents, there's a high chance I never would have done the Disney College Program. Imagine that.

If you find yourself breaking the mold of what your family expects you to be and your parents aren't open-minded, it can be really tough. You also might have parents that don't understand your choices or aren't supportive of you. You also might have really emotionally immature parents. Dealing with your parents disagreeing with you can get even tougher if you're a highly sensitive person or are used to always pleasing them. Remember, you're allowed to be your own person and grow on your own. If your parents can't be there for you anymore, find a good set of people who can. It's okay if you need to grow apart from your family so you can become the best version of yourself, although my hope for you in an ideal world is that your parents are accepting of you no matter what and are there to build you up, even when they don't agree with you. I know from personal experience that it's not always possible to have a deeply supportive family dynamic which is why I'm here to tell you that it's totally possible to be independent no matter how your family makes you feel.


~Be respectful

If your parents are toxic and bully you, it's hard to keep your cool around them. You might disagree with everything that comes out of their mouth! Try not to engage with them. Definitely don't tell them that you think they're wrong or it'll lead to more of a fight. Politely nod at what they're saying and try to excuse yourself from the conversation to limit the amount of damage they can do. Just remember that your parents are people and have their own struggles. Maybe they're projecting their childhood experiences onto you. It's possible they can't handle empty nesting. There are so many factors that can affect why your parents act the way they do. Respect who they are as people and have realistic expectations of them. Sometimes, withholding information from them so you can live your life is the best option. Granted, if you're making a life-changing decision like moving to the other side of the country or are doing something that involves their money, you might want to keep them in the loop. Understand where sharing information is important and where it isn't. Do what works for you.

Maybe you have a great relationship with your parents! But even the best relationships have disagreements. Hopefully, you're able to have safe communication with your parents when it comes to disputes. Work on talking through both sides of the issue. At the end of the day, you're becoming a more independent person. Your parents are always going to want to help you, but you need to assert that you're doing what's best for you. And if you make a mistake, you learn from it and your parents should be understanding of that as well! You know you have a solid relationship with your parents if you're able to safely disagree but feel loved and supported anyway.


Balance 11: Preparedness

~Get ready in advance

As an incoming freshman, I researched weeks in advance what I'd need to bring to college. I searched Google and Pinterest for extensive lists. One really helpful thing was looking up lists for commonly forgotten dorm items! Saving all the links in one Google Doc and writing everything down made the purchasing process a lot less stressful.

When I'm at school, I keep track of the items I've run out of by writing a list as I go. If it's the end of the semester, I typically won't need to purchase these items right away, but I know I'll need them during the next semester so I make note of it. That way, I always have all of my things in order when it comes to moving back in.

Getting ready for school days the night before is also super helpful. Meal prepping, having your bag ready to go, and having your morning routine mapped out makes the days go a lot smoother. Organization is key.


~Don't micromanage

This one is tough for perfectionists. Try to go with the flow a little bit! Planning everything out can be really helpful, but if you get hung up on every detail, it becomes more stressful than productive. You might forget to buy an item at the store here and there and have to make an extra trip back to grab it, and that's okay. There's more to life than planning every minute of the day and creating intense lists.


~~~

Balance!

Remember, your balance may look completely different than someone else's. That's totally normal. Find what works for you. It's a process to figure out your best balance and every day you learn new ways to help yourself thrive. Besides, what works for you during one phase of your life may be completely different than another! Go with the flow and trust your instincts.


Is there any other advice you'd like to hear? Did I miss some important college tips? Let me know! I'd love your feedback so I can help you better any way I can.


Lots of love,

Camryn

28 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page